Broward Teachers Union Awards Scholarships to Students

Broward Teachers Union Awards Scholarships to Students 1

Local BTU Scholarship winners are: Nyssa Powell, Harrison Netburn, and Amirah Bint Rashed.

By: Sharon Aron Baron

Eleven graduating seniors have been awarded scholarships by the Broward Teachers Union to assist them with furthering their education this coming year.

To qualify for the $500 scholarships, each student must be a son or daughter of a BTU member and attend either a community, technical college, or university after high school graduation. Awards are also based on students’ grade point averages. An additional scholarship based upon the total number of volunteer service hours was awarded to Camryn Handler of Cypress Bay High School, who accumulated 1,149 hours.

 Winners and the schools they will attend:

Cooper City

Bailey Max Kraus, Cooper City High (Columbia University)

Coral Springs

Harrison Netburn, Coral Springs High (Denison University)
Amirah Bint Rashed, JP Taravella High (University of Miami)


Adyn Register, Flanagan High (Florida State University)
Camila Moreno, Nova High (Mount Holyoke College)
Brittany Peters, Nova High (University of Florida)


Injyil Gates, Stranahan High, (Howard University)
Moira Kelly, Cooper City High (University of Central Florida)


Hunter Ginn, Western High (University of Central Florida)



Nyssa Powell, JP Taravella High (Parsons School of Design at The New School)


Camryn Handler, Cypress Bay High (Florida State University)

To apply for the 2018-2019 scholarship, apply online at next spring.

Author Profile

Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron is the Editor of Talk Media and Tamarac Talk, Coral Springs Talk, and Parkland Talk. Tamarac Talk was created in 2011 to provide News for the residents of Tamarac and is the #1 News Source for Residents.
rightway drilling
ent and allergy associates