Broward County School Board Member Lori Alhadeff Shares Update

Lori Alhadeff

School Board Member Lori Alhadeff meeting with other parents in her district.

Lori AlhadeffA Message from School Board Member Lori Alhadeff:

I’m writing to you today to share the first issue of Quarterly Buzz, an e-newsletter featuring news, insights, and noteworthy events at District 4 schools.

This newsletter will help keep you aware of the innovative ways Broward County Public Schools is educating today’s students to succeed in tomorrow’s world as well as celebrate District 4’s school community.

Here are a few of the highlights from District 4 schools this quarter:

Congratulations to J.P. Taravella High’s Jack Fitzgerald for winning 1st place in Florida’s Hispanic Heritage Month high school essay contest. Mr. Fitzgerald’s essay on Maria Mestre de Los Dolores Andreu, the first Hispanic American to operate a federal coastal installation, earned him a four-year Florida College Plan Scholarship.

Happy to announce that Marjory Stoneman Douglas High’s Eagle Regiment was selected to perform at London’s 2021 New Year Parade and Festival, one of just two schools in Florida – both from Broward County – to receive the honor, joining Stranahan High’s Marching Dragons. Congratulations to both groups on this impressive global recognition.

Five District 4 schools were named 2018/2019 Five Star School Award recipients by the Florida Department of Education, recognizing exemplary community involvement. Congratulations to Heron Heights Elementary, Maplewood Elementary, Ramblewood Elementary, Riverside Elementary, and Westglades Middle School.

Eight seniors from Marjory Stoneman Douglas were named semi-finalists for the 2020 National Merit Scholarships. They are Anna Bayuk, Kam Y. Cheung, Katherine E. Hebert, Maxwell H. Kilman, Amanda A. Manausa, Talia Rumsky, Andromeda A. Smith, and Karen S. Villancio-Wolter. Congratulations to all the finalists!

Sixteen schools in our District were recognized with the Golden School Award for exemplary community service. Ten schools have received this honor for more than a quarter-century, with Ramblewood Elementary and Westchester Elementary being named for 39 consecutive years! It’s a great honor to congratulate the students and faculty at these District schools that continue to support their communities as volunteers:

2019 Golden School Awards (Years)

Ramblewood Elementary (39)
Westchester Elementary (39)
Maplewood Elementary (37)
Margate Elementary (32)
Park Springs Elementary (29)
Coral Springs Middle (26)
Forest Glen Middle (26)
Pinewood Elementary (26)
Riverglades Elementary (26)
Ramblewood Middle (25)
Eagle Ridge Elementary (22)
Marjory Stoneman Douglas High (20)
Riverside Elementary (20)
Parkside Elementary (17)
Heron Heights Elementary (10)
Westglades Elementary (3)

Finally, I am proud of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High’s Michelle Kefford, Florida’s Principal of the Year, for her induction into the Broward Education Foundation’s Hall of Fame, and Russell Aaronson, from Coral Springs High, a Super Teacher featured earlier this year on the CW Network’s popular series. Congratulations, and thank you for your dedication and service to our kids and communities.

Click the links below to see more news, events, and accomplishments from District 4 schools. And, please reach out to me directly as needed by email at or by phone at 754-321- 2004.

Please remember that safety is everyone’s responsibility. So, “if you see something, send something.” If you see something suspicious, you can report it on your phone with the SaferWatch or FortifyFL app. You can also text “SBBC” (space) CRIMES (274637) or call 754-321-0911.

As we close out the last decade and welcome the new one, I want to thank our District’s parents, students, teachers, and administrators for the amazing job they do day after day in educating our kids and preparing them for the future.

I am proud to serve our children and our District. Wishing you all the best in the New Year.


Lori Alhadeff
School Board Member, District 4 Broward County Public Schools


Lori Alhadeff’s district represents Coral Springs, Parkland, Tamarac, and parts of Margate and North Lauderdale.

Premier bounce n slide